flwrbombfoodie

Feeding my curiosities everywhere I go.

My Last Supper

After a long day and week of teaching and after my second job tending bar at Baker’s Crust, all I wanted to do was to enjoy a relaxing and delicious dinner. Thinking of late night local spots to go, none of them were just right for my introverted mood. So I simply decided to stop by the store and grab a few things to make at home. I was craving all of my favorite things; a juicy melt-in-your-mouth filet, insanely creamy brie cheese, fresh fruit and a bottle of red wine.

20130413-002321.jpg

Choosing the filet was a no-brainer; I thought that if I was going to sear a steak at 11pm, I was going to do it up right. And the best way to prepare it: pinch of salt, tons of freshly cracked black pepper, and BUTTER. I preheated the oven to 325 degrees and set my burner on 7. Gently coating the pan with butter and once sizzling, set the steak in and let it sear, allowing the steak to for a golden crust. Give it 5-6 minutes. Before flipping the steak, rub some more butter on it to get that crispy outer skin which will also seal in all the moisture, one of the many requirements of a great steak.

20130413-002212.jpg

Once a hard crust has been made on both sides, place the entire pan into the oven to finish. I baked it for no more than five minutes since I like my filet rare to medium rare. I removed the pan and steak from the oven and transferred it into a bowl and immediately covering it, letting the steak rest which retained the natural juices, infusing the entire filet.

20130413-002258.jpg

Preparing the meal was one thing; enjoying it was completely another. The filet was indescribable: richness from the butter created an amazingly crispy and flavorful sear and the steak itself was a perfect rare to medium rare; dark pink, extremely juicy, and could have been cut with a butter knife.
ME: *bite of filet* *bite of brie (with rind)* *sip of wine* REPEAT

HEAVENLY.

20130413-002224.jpg

I can’t help to think what Jesus actually ate at His Last Supper. This topic is highly debatable but one theorize the possible dishes when taking the time period, the region, the season, and wealth of the individuals present into account. Lamb is the traditional meat for Easter, but historically, meat was available for only the very wealth and Jesus and his disciples were not. The only form of meat present would have been fish (probably Tilapia) as a result of Jesus asking Peter to fish the deep waters of a lake that was previously bare. The night of the Supper, however, Peter was able to catch an entire boat full of fish. Wheat and Barley, in the form of bread was present and accompanied with native olive oil and honey. Some passages claim that figs, pomegranates, and grapes were present but we cannot certain. Figs could have been eaten dried and pomegranates and grapes were not in season but wine was present. Other depictions were from Leonardo DaVinci when he portrayed the presence of grilled eel and apricots on the table; items that would have been on DaVinici’s own grocery lists during the 1400s.

image

Perhaps my dinner tonight was not as modest as His, but I seriously have not enjoyed a meal that I have prepared for just myself as much as I did tonight. Hands down, this could have been my last supper. I swear in my past life, I was French.

FBF xoxo

Leave a Reply

winebbler

wine wasted on the young and thrifty.

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

acaffeinatedbrunette.com/

Manhattan girl with a love for travel and food

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

flwrbombfoodie

Feeding my curiosities everywhere I go.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

